+61 (03) 9370 8906

Child Safe Standards 

What are the Standards?

The Child Safe Standards require schools to consider all aspects of child safety and put measures in place to protect children from all forms of abuse, including:

  • Sexual or grooming offences
  • Physical violence
  • Family violence
  • Serious emotional psychological harm
  • Neglect

They are compulsory minimum standards for all organisations that provide services to children including Victorian schools. The Standards are a result of recommendations of the Betrayal of Trust Inquiry and evidence of what works to prevent child abuse. The legislative requirement to create and maintain a safe organisation falls under the Victorian Child Safe Standards: Managing the Risk of Child Abuse in Schools, as set out in Ministerial Order No. 870 that came into effect on 1st August, 2016. Children are defined in the Standards as anyone under 18 years old.

Child Safe Standards aim to:

  • Promote the safety of children
  • Prevent child abuse
  • Ensure effective processes are in place to respond to and report all allegations of child abuse.

Child Safe Standards work by:

  • Embedding child safety in everyday thinking and practice
  • Providing a minimum standard of child safety
  • Highlighting that we all have a role to keep children safe from abuse.

The Principles:

All children are vulnerable, but some children need special care and protection to ensure they are safe. In complying with the Child Safe Standards, schools need to be mindful of the diversity of their students and school communities and include the following inclusion principles as part of each standard.

  • Promoting the cultural safety of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander children
  • Promoting the cultural safety of children from culturally and/or linguistically diverse backgrounds
  • Promoting the safety of children with a disability

There are eleven Child Safe Standards:

Standard 1: Culturally Safe Environments

Standard 2: Leadership, Governance and Culture

Standard 3: Child and Student Empowerment

Standard 4: Family Engagement

Standard 5: Diversity and Equity

Standard 6: Suitable Staff and Volunteers

Standard 7: Child-Focussed Complaints Process

Standard 8: Child Safety Knowledge, Skills and Awareness

Standard 9: Physical and Online Environments

Standard 10: Review of Child Safety Practices

Standard 11: Implementation of Child Safety Practices 

Ascot Vale Heights School is committed to the safety and wellbeing of all children and young people and have zero tolerance for any form of child abuse. We implement the Child Safe Standards to ensure the safety and well-being of all students and promote an organisational culture that manages the risk of child abuse, harm, or neglect. We believe that the Standards strengthen our existing practices to prevent and respond to child abuse while maintaining consistency in how we manage any potential concerns in our school.

Ascot Vale Heights School Child Safety Policy

Child Safety Standards Student Version

Child Safety Code of Conduct

Child Safe Commitment Statement

Child Safety Policy


Child Protection and Child Safe Standards (PROTECT)  https://www.vic.gov.au/protect 


Translate »